Health and Healing: Update on my Healing Journey

Al and AnnIt has now been a little over 6 months since the original surgery. Slowly but surely I have gotten back to normal and regained my health and strength. About 6 weeks after the 2nd surgery to reattach my colon, I had to schedule a colonoscopy so the surgeon could be sure my entire colon was truly healthy.

In all honesty, up until all this happened I had never had a colonoscopy (I was 60 when all this happened) and some of the doctors seemed flabbergasted by that. I’m pretty sure they thought there would be some polyps or problems they would find. I was convinced of just the opposite. I told my husband the only reasons I was doing this colonoscopy was to finish this whole procedure and see it through to the end. I also wanted my surgeon to say mine was the cleanest, healthiest colon he’s ever seen.

The anesthesiologist explained that they give you propofol to put you out during the procedure. I mentioned that I remembered that was the drug that killed Michael Jackson. He hesitated for a moment and said that it was, but of course used properly it was safe.

They told me I might have some side effects from the procedure but I didn’t have any pain or bleeding. I did, however, experience sneezing fits the rest of the day accompanied by a constantly running/stuffy nose. I considered it a side effect of the propofol. I’m pretty sure if I’d called the doctor’s office and asked they probably would’ve said it couldn’t have been from the propofol. In fact I googled it and what I experienced was not listed as a possible side effect.

But throughout this whole experience I have learned to trust my innate God-given wisdom and since I know myself and my body better than any expert, I don’t need their confirmation. Just as that “harmless” dental antibiotic couldn’t possibly have caused the serious constipation and blockage that started this whole journey, experts could tell me that the sneezing and runny/stuffy nose were not my body trying to get rid of the residue of that drug – but I know better!

Well I had the colonoscopy and all the surgeon said to my husband was – “Your wife has a perfect colon.” Now the chapter truly is closed! (By the way, that’s a picture of me and my husband before he got ready for his birthday party a few weeks ago!)

I have gotten back to doing my regular exercise routine and walking at least three times a week with my friend Joanne on the local trails. I just scheduled my first regular chiropractic visit since all this began in February. I regained those 13 lbs. and have had no trouble maintaining my normal weight. My strength and energy are back to normal as well.

I am back to eating the Today’s the Day way and just having starchy carbs only on the weekend. I thank every person who’s commented on these blogs and who has wished me well and prayed for me. I can’t tell you how much that has meant to me. I’m grateful to be able to be back here sharing my thoughts with you and I am grateful to everyone who takes the time to read and comment.

I expanded on these blog posts and compiled them into a book about my experience called In The Blink of an Eye. It is now available on Kindle and I would appreciate your sharing that link with anyone you think could benefit.  If you read it – please do me a favor and leave a review. I’d appreciate it!

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. To get more simple, practical nutrition tips, as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report and follow me on Pinterest and Twitter.

Make simple, gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Health and Healing: Update on my Healing Journey

  1. debwilson2 says:

    Rejoicing with you on persevering through to victory! And congratulations on writing a book to boot!

  2. Cute couple!  I look forward to reading your book.  

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

  3. marcytravis says:

    Congratulations Ann! I’m so happy for you. Love the pic of you and your hubby!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

