Health: Less Pain, But at What Cost?

painYou may have seen the commercial for new drugs to deal with constipation caused by opioid and narcotic medications. I can tell you from personal experience extreme constipation is no joke. I shared last year how a serious negative reaction to a dental antibiotic caused severe constipation necessitating removal of part of my colon!

So I absolutely know how debilitating this problem can be. While I was recovering from surgery I was experiencing substantial pain and the doctor prescribed an opioid drug. He did, however, explain that it would not only help manage pain but also slow down everything, including my digestive system. Not wanting to create that problem again, I weaned myself off of the pain meds within the first 2 weeks home from the hospital. However, there are many people who experience chronic, daily pain and find they must use those meds just to be able to function.

What I learned about those drugs that really concerns me is that they actually change your brain, and quickly at that! The study conducted showed that just one month on morphine reduced volume of gray matter in the brain by 3%. I don’t know about you, but I need every bit of my gray matter.

Drugs like morphine, heroin and oxycodone have a chemical structure similar to your body’s endorphins, which allows them to use those endorphin receptors and eventually overtake their place in your body. Because we seek to feel good and these drugs hit those areas that cause those feelings, it’s easy to see why it is so easy to become addicted. Over the past 10 years as many as 100,000 Americans have died from opioid overdoses and millions have become addicted to the drugs. It is a serious, complex problem.

So what can you do if you suffer from a chronic pain issue? Well if it is from a joint issue like arthritis, eliminating gluten and nightshade vegetables can go a very long way in providing relief. Along with that, eliminating or at least severely reducing grains of all types and sugar will be very helpful. Uncovering and eliminating any foods that are causing allergic reactions for you is also an important step to take.

Don’t overlook things like chiropractic care, myofascial release and acupuncture. Including healthy fats in your diet like pasture butter, coconut oil, omega 3 fatty acids and cetyl myristoleate, an all-natural compound that may mediate certain substances associated with minor pain is another excellent step.

Natural supplements like turmeric, ginger, boswelia and bromelain are surprisingly effective as well. I use a combination of turmeric and ginger if I overdo and have back or knee pain and it has never failed to bring relief.

Energy medicine, like EFT, Healing Codes and others are also extremely effective at addressing the underlying causes.

If you are dealing with a chronic pain condition, I encourage you to seek to address the underlying cause so that you don’t have to rely on narcotic and opioid medications long term.
If you deal with a chronic pain condition, how do you handle it?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

It’s that time of year when you realize you haven’t followed through on your resolution to lose weight. It’s not too late! Here’s a special offer you can’t afford to pass up. 15 weeks of coaching for $13 a week?! This offer won’t last long – it expires February 29th so take advantage of this and by May you’ll be celebrating a slimmer, fitter, healthier you!

If you ever get overwhelmed by all the health info out there and don’t know where to begin to improve your health, here are 125 baby steps to get you started! My first gig on Fiverr!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Brain health, Digestive Health, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Health: Less Pain, But at What Cost?

  1. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, that is very scary stuff. So many people are on pain meds. Thanks for the warning and for provided positive ways to manage pain. I’m passing this article on!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

