Health and Appetite: Clutter vs Control

clutter and chaosAnyone who knows me well knows I am most definitely not a fanatic housekeeper. I like a clean orderly house, but mine is of the “lived in” genre! God, with His amazing sense of humor, has given me close friends who are more of the “clean-freak” types – you know what I mean. Vacuuming the mattress every week and polishing doorknobs (ok so that’s a bit of an exaggeration but you get my drift.)

That being said, I have very low tolerance for a messy, cluttered environment. I find it makes me very agitated. We have a neighbor I used to do some typing and other clerical work for and just walking into her house made me feel anxious. It took a bit of time for me to realize why but there was so much mess and clutter that I almost felt like I couldn’t take a deep breath. I have learned that this is not an unusual response!

Well this study talks about how a chaotic environment can lead to overeating. Clutter and chaos go hand in hand. They both create stress and we all know that stress contributes to overeating and weight gain. In another study, mothers who described their homes as “messy” or “cluttered” also had higher levels of stress hormones by evening.

Prior research found people who struggle with clutter were 77% more likely to be overweight or obese.  This makes great sense to me. My walking buddy and I both read a book called, Your Spacious Self by Stephanie Bennett Vogt. She explains how, what she refers to as clearing clutter – both physical clutter as well as mental and emotional – can also be beneficial for your health.

If you find yourself struggling to maintain control of your eating habits, perhaps you first need to look at your environment. It could be that creating a tidy and organized kitchen might just help you gain the control you need over your appetite and food choices.

Is your kitchen a place of calm and order or clutter and chaos?

What better way to focus on clarity and reducing clutter than by breaking down big changes to baby steps? Here are 125 of my best ones to start you on your way to simplicity, clarity and control!

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

 

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Emotional Health, Fitness, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Health and Appetite: Clutter vs Control

  1. Cam says:

    Well this is less practical today, it may be something we can keep in mind in our new place. 🙂

    [image: photo] *Camden Ross* Reflective Bible Study https://reflectivebiblestudy.com Receiving #God’s peace is not a sign that we can now retreat. That would be “cowardly” . #DontRetreat #InTheEndJesusWins #JesusLovesYou

    02:59 Jul-25 Follow @GodsTruthHisWay

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, what an interesting corelation! I would have assumed the both reflected lack of discipline or motivation, not that one caused the other. Very interesting!

  3. Susan says:

    Very interesting

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

