Healthy Snacking: 5 Reasons to Eat Popcorn Again

popcornOne of my daughter’s favorite go-to snacks is air popped popcorn. She drizzles it with melted organic ghee and mixes in chili lime spice! I was concerned about her eating popcorn because I know most of the corn produced here is genetically modified so I made sure I only bought her organic, non-GMO certified popping corn.

I found out I didn’t have to go to all that trouble! While 90% of the corn grown in the US is genetically engineered, popping corn, which comes from a different seed, is not genetically modified – at least not yet.

This should be good news if this has always been a favorite snack food. There are plenty of health benefits associated with it as well including:

It is nutrient dense with 3.5 oz. providing 56% of the recommended daily allowance for manganese, 36% each of magnesium and phosphorous and 21% of zinc as well as several B vitamins;

It is high in fiber which is important for good health in so many ways, including balancing blood sugar;

While it is a starchy carb food, the starch it contains is known to help lower cholesterol;

It can be a great weight loss food because of the high fiber content and relatively low calorie count (as long as you don’t use any unhealthy add-ins!); and

It has a very high concentration of antioxidants and polyphenols – higher than other relatively healthy snack options, including fruits!

So if you have been avoiding popcorn thinking it is an empty-calorie snack – here are some reasons to include it again. Just beware of movie theater popcorn and remember air-popped popcorn has half the calories of microwave popcorn and corn you pop with your own oil.

Just use healthy toppings like a little coconut oil, ghee, pasture butter and some healthy spices. I used to enjoy sprinkling it with nutritional yeast. It has a cheesy flavor and adds protein! A win-win in my book.

Do you eat popcorn?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Children's Health, Digestive Health, Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healthy Snacking: 5 Reasons to Eat Popcorn Again

  1. debwilson2 says:

    Great news indeed, Ann. I love good popcorn!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

