Health and Healing: What Does Malnutrition Have to do With a Hospital Stay?

hospital-foodIf you don’t pay attention to nourishing yourself with real food and quality supplements when you are relatively healthy and at home, it’s no surprise that if you should end up in the hospital for any length of time, chances are you will end up malnourished, if you weren’t already to begin with! What is alarming is that one-third of patients enter the hospital malnourished! So they are already at a disadvantage when it comes to getting well.

We know that there is an obesity epidemic in this country, but you can be obese and malnourished and many people are! Our food supply in this country is seriously compromised and too many people just eat whatever packaged, processed food is cheap, fast and easy, leaving them malnourished even though they can be 50 or 100 pounds overweight.

When you are in the hospital eating hospital food, chances are the meat is not grass fed and finished, the veggies and fruits are not organic and the doctor most likely isn’t prescribing any nutritional supplements to bridge the nutritional gap while you’re there.

I remember when I was recovering from abdominal surgery a few years ago, every meal tray had a bottle of Ensure on it. The surgeon was very concerned about me regaining the weight I’d lost so I would be strong enough for the reattachment surgery. And after every meal, that bottle went back to the kitchen unopened. The surgeon finally asked me why I wasn’t drinking it. I told him it tasted disgusting and was not healthy. I asked if I could have my family bring my whey protein powder and my green powder so I could have one with every meal. He said no – that I should just use the Ensure for now!

Needless to say – that didn’t happen and I began having my healthy drinks as soon as I returned home. Every cell in your body requires nourishment to function properly and keep you healthy. If you overlook this foundational part of healthcare, you will find yourself suffering the consequences. It’s why I focus on this aspect of health.

Have you ever been hospitalized – and if so, what sort of nourishment did you receive?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Health and Healing: What Does Malnutrition Have to do With a Hospital Stay?

  1. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I had outpatient surgery. When I awoke they offered me coke or sprite. I asked for juice or herb tea. They looked around and found one cartoon of juice. I thought that had to be a better than a soft drink.

    • amusico says:

      Most definitely Debbie! It’s pretty amazing to me. When I had my colonoscopy after my surgery – I was offered a danish since I couldn’t eat anything from midnight on. It’s up to us to make the best choices available to us.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

