Healthy Holidays: My 7 Best Tips for a Healthy Holiday (and Minimal Weight Gain!)

christmas-cupcakesI’ve been reading articles and posts about how to transform traditional holiday goodies into more healthy fare. You know making them gluten free, or low fat or whatever your idea of “healthier” is.  My thoughts on the holidays are a little different.

They come around once a year. In my family there are traditional recipes I would never mess with! My grandmother and mother and mother-in-law made these foods this way and I won’t change that. It is family tradition at a time of year when we celebrate family and traditions! Here is what I do instead. I elevate the ingredients where I can. For example I use organic eggnog for Christmas morning eggnog French toast; I use grass fed and finished beef in the lasagna and Greek Pastichio; I bake the cookies using organic, unprocessed sugar. But I don’t change the recipes.

Instead of worrying about the foods I’ll be eating during that week between Christmas and the New Year, I prefer to just relax, enjoy extra time with my family as well as the tastes and treats I only make once a year. They bring back warm memories and that’s a big part of the beauty of this time of year.

It’s more important to focus on what you eat from New Year’s to Christmas than it is during that time from Christmas to New Year’s!

As soon as January 1st rolls around – I enjoy my dinner of black eyed peas and chicken sausage (a tradition we started when we lived in Tennessee) and then get right back on my healthy eating plan the very next day.

Holidays by their very nature are meant to be out of the ordinary. I think it’s important to just relax and enjoy them. As long as you commit to getting back on track quickly, that one week will not undo all your hard work.

I believe stressing and being anxious about what you’re eating and whether or not you’ve put a pound or two on is worse for your health than enjoying a piece of lasagna and a few Christmas cookies!

So as we approach Christmas may I suggest a few tips?

  1. If you are in the process of trying to get to a healthier weight that you switch your goal, just for that week, from weight loss to maintenance. Be realistic.

2. Get out there and exercise each day – you’ll just feel better! Stay active.

3. Be sure you are drinking half your body weight in ounces of water daily and staying hydrated (this will help you process emotions more effectively too – which have a way of escalating during the holidays!);

4. Continue taking your supplements each day;

5. Have a clean, healthy, protein breakfast, especially if you’ll be having a heavier dinner.

You will be giving your body the basics it needs to stay healthy and those extra treats will not be as big an issue.

6. Make time to spend with family, especially those you don’t get to visit with often.

7. And take time to remember what and Who we are celebrating!

I want to take this opportunity to wish you blessings and every beautiful gift during Christmas and Hanukkah!

Do you have tips for making the holidays less stressful and healthier?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Emotional Health, Fitness, Gratitude, Nutrition, Spiritual Health, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Healthy Holidays: My 7 Best Tips for a Healthy Holiday (and Minimal Weight Gain!)

  1. Lori Yaw says:

    This is awesome! 51 Weeks of clean eating can’t be undone by one! Unless we believe it can be and that was last weeks post! Thank you Ann!

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    I love this quote: “It’s more important to focus on what you eat from New Year’s to Christmas than it is during that time from Christmas to New Year’s!” Really great tips. I like the idea of switching to maintenance and high-quality foods.

    This isn’t about food, but I’ve noticed that I always get a sore back over the holidays. I’m sure it’s a combination of stress and bad posture. I’ve been taking preventative measures and began doing yoga almost daily to improve my posture and work out the kinks.

    Thanks for a great year of healthy information. Have an incredible Christmas and a blessed New Year!

    • amusico says:

      Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts this year Holly. I wish you and your family a wonderful Christmas and healthy, joyous New year. This is a very stressful time of year just because there is so much more to get done – so stretching and working out the kinks sounds like a very good idea to relieve the back pain. Especially if the pain is higher up – like in the shoulder blades – it could be stress – we carry so much stress in that area. I’m glad the tips resonated with you.

  3. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I like how you said,”It’s more important to focus on what you eat from New Year’s to Christmas than it is during that time from Christmas to New Year’s!” Such wisdom!! Have a wonderful Christmas and Happy New Year!

    • amusico says:

      Debbie thank you – and thank you for your ongoing support and encouragement. I wish you and your family the most blessed Christmas and healthy, joyous new year!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

