Healthy New Year: Keep it Simple

new-year-resolutionsAs we approach the beginning of a new year most of us have had our fill of the holiday treats and are ready to get back to clean eating and a more normal routine. At least I know I am. That being said, this is usually the time of year when people begin making New Year’s resolutions to start diets, lose weight, begin working out and whatever else they believe will make this a healthier year. None of those are bad things, but for most people those resolutions don’t usually last past the end of January.

What I think is a more effective way to go is to simplify. Properly nourishing ourselves is the foundation of health – as I say in my home page video – from conception to death. You can drive yourself crazy with all the ever-changing nutritional information and thousands of diet swirling around out there.

Unless you keep it simple, chances are you will not make it a long term change and that’s the only way it will be effective. So, here are my 3 basic tips for simplifying and improving nutrition:

1.Aim to get clean protein, healthy fat, fiber and veggies, particularly leafy greens each day.

2. Create your meals from the highest quality (grass fed, free range, organic) one-ingredient, whole foods you can find and afford.

3. Look at your meals as your unique fuel blend to give you the energy and strength to accomplish what you need to each day and pay attention to how different foods affect you. Here’s where keeping a food log will come in handy.

We could go into a LOT more detail and it would be different for each of us. This is why I personalize a plan for each client depending on their needs – weight loss, reducing cholesterol, more energy, joint pain relief – whatever their challenge might be. This is actually a great time of year to get some input on simple yet specific changes you can make to achieve your particular health goals.

However, if you use these 3 basic steps to start, I guarantee you’ll be able to improve your nutrition and  that will truly make a difference in your health.

What is your main health resolution for this year? How do you plan to achieve it?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Digestive Health, Fitness, Heart Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healthy New Year: Keep it Simple

  1. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I like your simple strategy. If it’s not simple I don’t think it will last. Many blessings for the New Year!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

