Health: Benefits of Periodic Cleansing

fasting plateWe just finished with the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays and all the delicious (and rich) foods associated with them. While I enjoyed every morsel, I clearly felt the difference in my body after eating foods I only have once a year. I have incorporated periodic cleansing into my normal routine and I would love to tell you why and how I do it.

As much as I enjoy the stuffing, pies, lasagna and cookies over the holidays, I almost immediately begin to feel bloated, lethargic and fatigued. I try to do a very gentle, modified cleanse one day a week during the year as often as I can. It just leaves me feeling refreshed, lighter and well, clean. This holiday season I did a 3 day cleanse/fast before both Thanksgiving and Christmas and what I found was that I just naturally was able to eat less during the holiday. I still tasted everything and had enough, but I didn’t overeat.

I did this liquid, gentle cleanse beginning New Year’s Day as well. Not only does it seem to physically provide benefits, but I find by limiting my food intake, even just for one day, helps me take control over my physical body – rather than being controlled by my appetite. I believe it is important and effective to remind your body just who’s in charge!

During these cold weather months I like to start with my Bulletproof tea and NutriBlast green drink. Then throughout the day I sip on organic bone broth – at least 2 big mugs – and one mug of Golden Milk which I have really been enjoying lately! Of course I still include half my body weight in ounces of water with the appropriate amount of unprocessed salt.

During the warm weather months I often do a 3 Day Suero Cleanse. It’s refreshing and surprisingly filling. Many times I break it up and do one day a week over three weeks rather than 3 days all at once. It just depends on my needs and how I feel.

I also make sure to take an extra fiber supplement on those cleanse days and of course I continue taking my probiotics. This helps with the cleansing aspect of it.  Whenever possible I also include an Epsom salt soak for my feet which is also very detoxifying.

I try to schedule my cleanse day at a time during the week when I can just slow down, stay home if possible and spend a little more time reading scripture and nurturing myself spiritually as well as physically. I am also extra intentional about avoiding negative information such as news reports and let myself focus only on uplifting, positive information entering my ears and eyes. It’s good to detox the soul too! I emerge from those days feeling recharged and renewed.

If the thought of all liquids is daunting to you, just drink extra water and focus on fresh, organic, raw veggies. Try having a green drink in the morning and then one or two big, beautiful salads brimming with cleansing and nourishing veggies. Maybe you could institute a No-Meat Monday or have an All-Salad Sunday each week or two. Nothing is written in stone – do what works for you and what you know you can consistently do.

Do you have a cleansing practice? What do you do?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Detox, Detoxification, Nutrition, Soul Health, Spiritual Health, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Health: Benefits of Periodic Cleansing

  1. Holly Scherer says:

    We know that feeling! Especially when we’re traveling, staying with others and eating more meals in restaurants. We will both feel sick quite quickly when we’re not eating fresh clean food. I never really thought of it as a cleanse, but we do tend to binge on salads and fresh veggies after these weekends away. It’s crazy how much better you start to feel after just one fresh meal.

    I like the idea of the mental and spiritual cleanse. I try to make those practices part of my daily routine. But I see a real benefit to intentionally increasing the practice while recovering from long holiday weekends with family.

    Always great ideas, Ann!

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, thanks for your tips. I certainly feel the need for a cleanse after the holidays.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

