Healthy Mouth, Healthy Heart

happy-toothThe common thread between gum disease and chronic health conditions is inflammation — the body’s natural response to an infection or injury. The build-up of inflammatory substances in the blood seems to worsen heart disease, diabetes, and other chronic conditions. Eliminating gum infection may reduce that harmful response throughout the body.

I am familiar with this from personal experience. I saw my mom have constant gum problems, which ended up with her losing all her teeth. My dad as well began losing teeth and it accelerated heart problems. I have struggled with gingivitis and gum problems since my early teens. I have finally found a regimen that has been working well for me.

This is National Heart Health month and while eating healthy food, quitting smoking, exercising and being aware of your emotional health all contribute to a healthy heart, don’t overlook dental health! There is a very strong connection between poor oral health and cardiovascular disease.

As I mentioned at the very beginning the connection is inflammation. While we’ve heard over and over that cholesterol is the cause of heart disease, experts now agree inflammation, not cholesterol, is the root cause of heart disease. Inflammation leads to atherosclerosis (hardening of the arteries), which increases the risk of heart disease and stroke.

Our gums are full of blood vessels and our mouths are full of bacteria. When bacteria enters your blood stream, it can go to any part of your body, triggering inflammation. Studies have shown that the specific bacteria found in periodontal disease has been shown to play a role in strokes as well as heart disease. In fact, when there is no gum disease, there is much less of this bacteria found in the heart.

So carefully and properly brushing your teeth, flossing and oil pulling are a few of the things you can do to keep your teeth and gums healthy and to reduce your risk of heart disease and stroke.

I’ve researched over the years to find the best products to keep my teeth and gums healthy and the Healthy Mouth Blend and Shine from OraWellness are among my daily must-haves.

Are you aware of the connection between oral health and cardiovascular health?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.       

Fill in the form below and tell me how I may help you.

 

 

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Healthy Mouth, Healthy Heart

  1. Holly Scherer says:

    It’s all connected – great reminder. I’m curious what your regimen is as we’re always looking at ways to improve our personal health.

    PS – I just realized I may have been commenting in the request form. Sorry about that.

    • amusico says:

      That’s ok Holly – I just tried the request form out to see if that would make it easier for people to contact me – but I think it just made it a bit confusing.

      I will be happy to share my regimen with you – mine is definitely more involved than most people because of what I went through a couple of years ago ending up in serious surgery because of a dental antibiotic. I’ll email you!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

