Weight Loss: Are You Good or Bad Today?

thumbs_up_thumbs_downWe have to lose the belief that some foods are “good” and some are “bad.” You’re probably thinking I’m being hypocritical because I often write about the dangers of certain foods and ingredients in them. But hear what I am saying. In order to be able to lose weight in a truly healthy way and establish a healthy relationship with your body and with food, changing your perception is key. If you punish yourself and consider you have been “bad” if you ate something you consider “bad” – that’s a problem!

Food was provided to us by God to nourish and sustain our bodies and also for enjoyment and fellowship! He’s also given us the ability to make our own choices. So some days you may make very good, healthy choices that align with your goals and other days you may not. That doesn’t ruin everything and it doesn’t make you “bad” on that day. It doesn’t even make it a bad day!

In Today’s the Day I work with clients through the initial 7 weeks to help them understand how to make the best choices for them. Those are not exactly the same for everyone. We are all unique and some foods that work well for me will not for you. That’s ok. This is why I call Today’s the Day a blueprint – we personalize the plan to your specific needs.

That’s also why my focus is on the quality of food and taking baby steps. If you only focus on losing a certain number of pounds or reaching a specific weight you’re missing the most important aspect of the whole thing. We are meant to enjoy our meals. Our food is meant to nourish, strengthen and sustain us. Our focus is to be on wholeness and health and when that happens we find that reaching a healthy weight with energy and vitality becomes so much easier and more enjoyable.

Guilt over making a less than optimal choice is pointless. We all do that from time to time. One day isn’t going to totally derail all your other good choices. Just enjoy the birthday cake, or ice cream, or mac and cheese or pizza or whatever your “guilty pleasure.” It’s what you do next that counts!

What do you think about the concept of good and bad foods and how they impact who you are?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.         

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Emotional Health, Soul Health, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weight Loss: Are You Good or Bad Today?

  1. Holly Scherer says:

    Wow! What a fantastic point, Ann. You’re right. Finding that balance is what we all need to be successful long term.

    The turning point for us was when we shifted our focus from weight and how we look to long term health. The other thing that’s different for us is that we make almost everything we eat from scratch. Pizza made from scratch is a completely different experience than pizza from a grocer’s freezer or delivery from a chain.

    Love, love, love the point you make here. I will definitely be cognizant of these thoughts.

    • amusico says:

      Thank you Holly for your comment. And I love what you mention about making your food from scratch. That makes a big difference. Early this year one of my newsletters spoke about the importance of elevating your food. This is a big part of that – choosing the best ingredients and making it yourself so you control that. It is a relatively simple thing to do but very powerful. For example, I make my grandmother’s Easter bread each year and I don’t change those recipes to make them “healthier.” It’s a once a year thing and we enjoy them for that day. However, I have substituted Einkorn flour for regular AP flour and use pasture butter and organic milk. I don’t change the recipe – I elevate it by choosing the best quality ingredients I can.

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I like how you personalize your blueprint. I’ve seen that in my own family. It is hard not to label yourself or your day based on how you feel you performed that day in eating and other ways. Great thoughts!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

