Weight Loss: A Simple (Delicious) Way to Decrease Hunger

They’re one of the oldest cultivated fruits. Central American farmers have been growing them since 8000 BC. I know the picture gave it away – yes, it’s avocados.

A very interesting study was done to determine how including avocado with lunch would influence blood sugar levels, insulin responses, satisfaction and further food intake.

The researchers found that study participants who added half an avocado to their lunch reported a significantly decreased desire to eat. Forty percent over a three hour period and 28% over a five hour period compared to their desire to eat after a standard lunch that didn’t include avocado.

Even more significantly, their satisfaction was long lasting. Three hours after eating they still experienced 26% increased satisfaction. And there was no increase in blood sugar levels beyond what was observed after eating the standard lunch.

Avocados are loaded with fiber, healthy fat and protein all of which help you feel satisfied and full longer. They are loaded with nutrients like vitamins C and E, beta carotene, selenium and zinc. You can get more detailed info on this amazing food in a previous No-Nonsense Nutrition Report. Just click this link.

So if you are trying to lose weight and struggling with hunger particularly in the afternoon, try including a half to a whole avocado with your lunch. Topping a salad with avocado slices helps you absorb more of the fat soluble nutrients so it’s a win-win. I like including them in my lunch smoothie which makes it creamier and very satisfying. What about mashing one up and making guacamole or even a creamy green tuna salad?

What’s your favorite way to eat avocado?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.         

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Digestive Health, Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weight Loss: A Simple (Delicious) Way to Decrease Hunger

  1. Coach4him says:

    Just bought a bag and used in smoothie this AM / thanks for article/ I spoke with Jackie and she is doing better (less frustrated) but a text / brief check in may help.

    Also, Father has laid upon my heart book idea and it is time to move ahead despite obstacles/ would appreciate prayers / thx for being a blessing to us!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • amusico says:

      That’s great Bruce – I sent you an email yesterday that I thought spoke directly to the book idea and I was planning to text Jackie this afternoon.

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    Really good to know, Ann! I might try experimenting with them more, earlier in the day.

    One of my favorite things is an avocado whip I use with Mexican style dishes. I use avocado, lime juice, cilantro, salt and pepper and whip it on high with the immersion blender. It’s a yummy, savory mouse!

  3. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I find avocados do exactly what you say. They leave you feeling sated. Thanks for the recipe ideas!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

