Health: It’s Always Time for Spring Cleaning

Typically we begin spring cleaning our homes in March or April, before Easter and Passover. The weather is beginning to be nice and we can at least occasionally open the windows and let the fresh, clean spring air in as we scrub and polish our homes.

As much as I dislike housecleaning (and anyone who knows me knows it is far from something I enjoy doing), the feeling of refreshing I get after thoroughly cleaning my house is definitely worth the effort.

The “house” you live in, and I’m not talking about the brick and wood house now, I am talking about your physical body that houses your spirit and soul – that house needs periodic deep cleansing to function optimally too.

That is usually referred to as a detox or cleanse and many people are either turned off by those terms or afraid of them. I consider regular, periodic detoxing to be an important aspect of staying healthy. And don’t think because it’s now summer that it’s too late. I like to do a detox at the beginning of every new season! Besides you don’t just spring clean your house and then never clean it the rest of the year!

It’s important to realize and understand that YOU decide the quality of your life.  Here is an important truth: You will only feel as good as the nutrients you put in your body and are able to absorb and utilize fully.

We live in a toxic world! Besides air and water pollution, we have a severely compromised food supply, we are bombarded with EMFs, toxic drugs and personal care products, as well as toxic thoughts, feelings, relationships and beliefs! We are bombarded on every side with toxicity. It makes sense that periodically, intentionally detoxing would free our bodies, minds and spirits to release what hinders them from absorbing true nutrition.

Giving your body what it needs, will help you become more productive, look better, have more energy and feel wonderful. And it doesn’t have to be complicated or difficult. In fact it shouldn’t be. There are several different ways you can go about it.

You know I am a huge proponent of “baby steps” – small, simple, gradual, incremental, convenient steps towards better health.  You can effectively do a simple, easy beginner 5-day detox just by increasing your water intake, having a cup of warm water with lemon juice first thing and focusing your meals on lots of non-starchy, leafy greens and other veggies and extra fiber which can come from a serving of beans.

Detox is the first step of my Today’s the Day plan because a congested liver will make losing weight much more difficult if not impossible! In fact the first 2 weeks are “detox weeks” and are essentially what I described above with some supplements you may choose to include.

I like to take one day every week (usually Monday) and do a modified fast to cleanse my physical body and also to retain control over my appetite and habits. It’s my way of showing my body who’s the boss. It’s a great way to start the week feeling clean, energized and in control. I try and include spirit and soul detox as well since we are thinking-feeling spirit beings and as I mentioned, thoughts, relationships, beliefs and emotions carry toxicity that also needs to be addressed.

Another easy way to include these simple detox principles is to do my 14-Day Diet Reboot. You get everything you need – menus, recipes, shopping list and links to resources. It’s a painless way to see if changing your diet is something you really can do.

Clients who’ve done the Reboot have not only gone on to then do the Today’s the Day Plan and lose a considerable amount of weight, but have learned, easily, how to clean up their diet and after 2 weeks found it easy to continue this way of eating. Think of it as a “detox” on training wheels!

Gently detoxing ourselves and changing our habits gradually is the best way to achieve the vibrant health we all want.

What keeps you from regularly detoxing?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

 

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Detox, Detoxification, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Soul Health, Spiritual Health, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Health: It’s Always Time for Spring Cleaning

  1. Holly Scherer says:

    Great idea to detox on Mondays, Ann.
    A couple Sundays ago it rained all day. I biked 100 miles the day before and obviously ate a lot. I ended up doing at 24 hour fast that Sunday and I felt amazing. It’s amazing how quickly your body can get back in balance with a little time and water.

    • amusico says:

      It sure is Holly! Our bodies were created to cleanse and heal when we give them what they need! And wow 100 miles?! That’s amazing!

      • Holly Scherer says:

        Thank you Ann. It was the hottest and windiest day of the year so it took a little perseverance and patience. That’s a big number for cyclists. I was planning to do an 80 mile loop and then I thought, might as well add another 20 and get my century in for the year. It’s pretty amazing what the body can do.

      • amusico says:

        Yes it certainly is amazing Holly. You definitely displayed a LOT of patience, perseverance and strength! I’m impressed!

      • Holly Scherer says:

        Thank you, Ann. Most of that is how I’m wired. I owe the strength to my husband, he never treats me like a girl who can’t keep up with the boys. It’s made the sport a lot more fun!

      • amusico says:

        Yes I can see that this would be true about your gifting and how you’re wired. You have also kept yourself in shape and done the work to achieve this, which is impressive. Good for your husband – I’m sure you both push each other to higher levels. Smart man!

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I think when we have control over our bodies instead of being mastered by our cravings, life is better in many ways. Thanks for pushing us to be our best.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

