Weight Loss: What If It Doesn’t Work for You?

When you read about different research and studies and their findings, do you automatically believe whatever the findings indicate is what is best for you?

If you read this article, would you assume that you had to give up meat and become a vegetarian in order to lose weight? It seems to say that the best diet for weight loss and reducing muscle fat is the vegetarian diet.

I go to visit my sweet little grandson every month for a few days. My daughter-in-law is a vegetarian but because of how some of the foods were affecting the baby as she is nursing him, she has essentially been eating a vegan diet. So when I visit I eat what they eat.

I am not a vegetarian – I consider myself a “qualitarian.” I eat meat and animal products but I am most concerned about the quality of my food. That being said I have no problem eating what they eat for a few days. What I find very interesting is that I usually gain a pound or two when I am there even though I probably eat far fewer calories than usual. Actually I was close to being a vegetarian when I was younger because I just preferred grains and veggies. But in my early 40’s I began gaining weight even though nothing else changed and that was when I created my Today’s the Day Plan. I got back to my healthiest weight and have easily remained there for over 20 years.

So for me, this research doesn’t hold true. I think it’s wonderful to do research and to be open to making changes. However, we have to always keep in mind that we are each unique and what works for 99% of people may not work for us! And that’s fine. Just as “one size fits all” clothing doesn’t usually fit everyone well, one size fits all diets don’t work for everyone either.

So definitely be open to learning from research. It seems something new is discovered every day. But even more important, in my opinion, is to know yourself and your makeup. Keep it simple. Employ a few basic principles such as eating only fresh, high quality, one-ingredient foods; use spices and herbs liberally to flavor foods and boost nutrition and create meals from clean protein, non-starchy green veggies and healthy fats.

The details are open to interpretation but if you start with the basics you will find it much easier to stick with the plan that works for you.

Does it frustrate you when you don’t get the same results research says you should?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

