Meal Timing and Sleep

I’ve written before about the benefits of intermittent fasting and how limiting your meals to a specific window of time each day can help with weight loss and insulin sensitivity. But a much overlooked benefit is how meal timing affects sleep.

I remember a lady I worked for years ago telling me I was too rigid because I preferred eating my lunch at roughly the same time daily. She was one of those people who didn’t like having schedules for anything. I wondered for a long time if she might be right and I was being too regimented.

Turns out she was wrong and here’s why. Time-restricted eating (or intermittent fasting) supports our internal clock (circadian rhythm). When we eat and exercise at roughly the same times daily we help our body to get into a routine. Once we get into that routine, it can become easier to fall asleep and wake up at the same time daily.

Creating these specific times when we eat, and when we fast, seems to be important to promote a healthy metabolism and good sleep. It doesn’t have to be a restrictive window. Just about everyone can do a 12 hour eating and 12 hour fasting window. And also avoiding eating within 3 hours of bedtime can be a simple way to improve the quality of your sleep.

Have you considered intermittent fasting to help you sleep better?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meal Timing and Sleep

  1. Debbie W. Wilson says:

    Love the photo of the food clock! I think having rhythms of when we do things does prepare our minds and bodies. Thanks, Ann.

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    Big fan of intermittent fasting! Still working on fasting 3 hours before bed – we’ve gotten pretty good at 2 hrs. Hard to fit it all in – especially with these long summer days.

  3. dlyaw says:

    well I fail miserably here ! I knew the window was important and can do that, helps to know the eating should be regular ! Thanks!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?