Help for Eating Seasonally

I’ve written before about the benefits of eating seasonally. It’s cost effective. When you buy what’s in season, it’s always less expensive. It adds variety to your diet. You don’t end up eating the same 3 veggies all year round, which gets pretty boring. It also improves your nutrition. We are advised to “eat the rainbow” and choosing from whatever produce is in season at the moment is a great way to do that.

I came across this online guide that helps you search by state to find out what varieties of seasonal fruits and veggies are available in your area. Eating seasonally and locally helps you get fresher and more nutritious and flavorful food as opposed to foods shipped from all over the world.

I am also a huge proponent of supporting our local farmers and buying food locally and seasonally is a great way to do that.

Do you shop seasonally and locally as much as possible?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Help for Eating Seasonally

  1. Debbie W. Wilson says:

    I enjoyed checking the season produce in my area. Lots more than I usually take advantage of.

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    I try to, but as we discussed in a previous post, it’s hard to find good local clean farmers these days. That said, we grow as much as we can on our small city lot – especially things you should always buy organic. I would add that another benefit of eating seasonally is coming up with new healthy recipes. It’s amazing what I all do with kale and I have beet recipes that are annual favorites. Thanks for sharing this great resource!

    • amusico says:

      Absolutely Holly. Sounds like you do better than most. I just like sharing a helpful tool sometimes instead of alarming news which unfortunately comes across my desk all too often.

  3. JD Wininger says:

    Now that’s a new term to me Ms. Ann. Never knew that’s what we were instinctively doing. We eat fall foods in the fall and winter when we harvest them. Sure am glad it’s steak season, year-round. 🙂

    • amusico says:

      Well it just goes to show you my friend – it doesn’t matter if you know the term. It only matters if you are doing it!!! Good for you.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?