Seasonal Eating for Best Nutrition

roasted spring veggiesOne of the most enjoyable aspects of no-nonsense nutrition is eating seasonally. Right now it is spring and we are (at least here in upstate NY) reveling in the milder temperatures and watching the trees clothe themselves with those tender green leaves. My tulips and lilac are  blooming as well. Makes you want to throw the windows open and celebrate!

It’s my favorite season and the perfect time not only to spring clean your house but your body as well. I always like to begin each season with a cleanse and spring veggies are so wonderful and easy to incorporate. Depending on where you are, your choice of seasonal vegetables and fruits may be different, but I encourage you to visit Local Harvest and find the freshest seasonal produce you can.

Artichokes are one of the best spring vegetables and they are a wonderful liver cleansing food. They’re also very high in magnesium, which, along with vitamin D3, most people are sorely deficient in.

Asparagus is another great spring vegetable that is nutrient-dense and even a great mood-boosting food since it is high in folate, needed to produce feel-good brain chemicals.

Even though fennel is one you can usually find all year ’round it is considered a spring veggie and a treasure-trove of antioxidants. Another that I especially look forward to are vidalia onions which I usually only find in the spring. They are so sweet and mild and loaded with sulfur, a health tonic all by themselves.

Finally, beets another incredible liver cleanser and tonic are at the peak of their season now. I especially love including them and I either grate them raw onto my salad (wear gloves or you’ll have red hands!) or my other favorite way is to roast them. Here’s my favorite roasted beets recipe to do that.

What are your favorite spring fruits and veggies?

Want to see more articles like this?  Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  If you also subscribe to my free weekly newsletter, I will send you 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Seasonal Eating for Best Nutrition

  1. Well the spring harvest times are a bit different here in SC. Our first organic produce CSA delivery began in mid April and we are getting a lot of leafy greens which I love. So far we have gotten kale, collards, turnip greens with turnips attached, frisee greens, arugula (which is my very favorite, kohlrabi with greens attached (the kohlrabi greens are delicious too), rapini, green onions, green garlic, and bok choi. We have also gotten some lemon grass which makes a great tea as well as a soothing salve for all types of skin eruptions. Carrots and broccoli are coming in the next couple weeks. I love it all! Also, although they are not organic, local strawberries are in season here right now and they are absolutely delicious this year due to abundant rainfall we have had so far this year.

    • amusico says:

      Just listing all those delicious vegetables is making my mouth water! My children bought me a NutriBullet for Mother’s Day so besides my morning smoothies I am making “NutriBlasts” of fresh, organic baby greens and sprouts midday and I am loving it!

      On Mon, May 20, 2013 at 12:00 PM, 3-D Vitality

  2. Ani Danelz says:

    I love spring produce!! I wish we would get artichokes here, but I have yet to see them at the market. Asparagus is definitely a favorite along with tomatoes and zucchini!

  3. Ann,

    I eat the same foods all year long, but hubby likes asparagus so it’s nice to know that’s in season right now.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

    • amusico says:

      It’s true we can eat the same foods all year round – I do love taking advantage of what’s local and seasonal when I am able to.

      On Mon, May 20, 2013 at 3:16 PM, 3-D Vitality

  4. Ann, I am celebrating with you! Yes, I love this time of year too. Not only is the weather gorgeous but we are able to enjoy such a delicious rainbow of fruits and veggies! You provided a wonderful list for us. Asparagus, artichokes and beets are among my favorite vegetables. I enjoy fennel too; it has a distinct licorice-like flavor, and it’s excellent for digestion. Some of my other spring favorites are “spring greens” such as arugula and spring berries such as strawberries. The roasted beets recipe sounds delicious;I look forward to trying it! And I love that you blend insights with enthusiasm, Ann, as it makes for an excellent recipe!

    • amusico says:

      Caroline – thank you for your enthusiastic comment – I do love this time of year – for so many reasons, not the least of which are the delicious fruits and vegetables in season.

      On Tue, May 21, 2013 at 1:03 PM, 3-D Vitality

  5. You’re making some of the old veggies I used to avoid as a kid sound appealing, Ann! I haven’t tried beets since I was a kid though I’m not a picky eater – your recipe is super-simple, so I must give it a try. I love asparagus personally the best! I’ve grown to love onions more and more since a kid, especially grilled with bell peppers.

  6. Darren Wu says:

    Ann,

    Out of all those you mentioned, I eat asparagus the most.

    I’ve had artichokes before, but don’t eat them often. The same thing goes with beets.

    All of them, however, don’t taste as bad as most people say they do. I actually like eating them!

    • amusico says:

      Once you retrain your taste buds these foods are delicious! And don’t forget you can use spices and herbs to make them taste even better! Glad you are enjoying the wonderful bounty of fresh veggies!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

