Health: Maybe You Should Lose the Label

For me the foundation of health is nutrition. Whether you are trying to lose weight, normalize blood sugar or cholesterol, improve a pain problem or increase energy, it all begins with the fuel you choose to put into your body.

There are two issues that will affect how your chosen fuel affects your health: your personal metabolism and the quality of the fuel. We are all metabolically unique and so what works beautifully for me at this stage in my life may not work well for you. One size doesn’t fit all – ever! What worked for me at 20 and 40 doesn’t work for me now. And that’s ok. We are not only metabolically unique but our needs change periodically as well.

We have to be willing to adjust and make changes. I was essentially a vegetarian for the most part in my 20’s and 30’s until I started gaining weight in my early 40’s and just didn’t feel and look my best. So I researched and made some changes which actually resulted in my Today’s the Day (and soon to be released, updated Today is Still the Day) healthy weight loss plan.

I think we tend to get too stuck on labels. People can become almost vicious in “defending” their label, whether that particular way of eating is working for them or not! I find in some cases it is adhered to with almost religious fervor. That’s all well and good if it is working for you.

How do you know if it is working for you? Simple – ask yourself: Do you look and feel your best? And be sure you answer honestly.

If you don’t, maybe it is time to try another way? Even just temporarily. Remember, this is just creating healthy meals to nourish yourself for optimal health. It is not written in stone. You don’t have to eliminate meat (or start eating it ) for the rest of your life. Our bodies go through different seasons and what seems to be working now may not in 5 years. So you may need to make another change or as a friend of mine says – pivot! Staying flexible and open and paying attention to your body will pay incredible dividends in the long run. And making a change doesn’t mean you “failed” with whatever you were doing before. It just means it was time to change.

Here’s the bottom line as I see it: Listen to your body. Pay attention to the signs and cues it clearly gives you. Stay open to change and be flexible and willing to pivot. The only non-negotiable for me is the quality of the food I eat.

Is what you are doing working well for you or is it time to make a change?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?