Weight Loss: It’s An Inside Job

Guns don’t kill people any more than forks make them fat.”

I saw the above quotation recently and it really got me thinking. I read years ago about several overweight teenagers who sued McDonald’s for making them obese because they were addicted to the fast food.

Is it any more ridiculous to sue the company that made your silverware because you use their forks, knives and spoons to eat and you are overweight?

Listen, I talk about the importance of choosing real food and eliminating fast and packaged, processed junk food all the time. So I am the first one to stress how important what you put in your body is. But we have forgotten about personal responsibility. Somewhere along the way we have become a nation of finger-pointers!

It goes without saying that fast food restaurants should not heavily market to young children and it’s also true that the more you eat that food the more you crave it. It is made to be addictive. But parents are also responsible for limiting their children’s exposure to that junk and teaching them why. Just as important as choosing clean, fresh, whole foods that nourish your body instead of simply filling (and expanding) your belly is to educate yourself and develop discipline, taking responsibility for your choices.

Unless you make a conscious decision to choose real food and avoid junk as much as possible you can certainly become addicted to processed foods and many people do! While what you put into your body matters greatly, much of what really impacts your choices the most is what is already inside you: your thoughts, beliefs and feelings.

You can exercise and diet like crazy, lose a ton of weight and if you don’t address what is going on inside, you are essentially ensuring you gain it all back again and then some. Your spirit and soul are every bit as critical as your muscles and diet and yet often are completely overlooked. You may have grown up believing because your whole family is overweight that’s just the way it is and you have no choice in the matter. That will definitely influence the choices you make.

There is more to weight loss than simply adjusting your diet and exercising. You may be carrying around mental, emotional or spiritual “weight” that is preventing you from experiencing weight loss success you so desire. Weight loss, like most life changes, is an inside job.

Perhaps take some time to think about what you believe and if you need help with this, contact me and let’s talk.

Are you taking responsibility for your choices or just blaming your lack of success on external factors?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Soul Health, Spiritual Health, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Weight Loss: It’s An Inside Job

  1. Ivey Rorie says:

    Preach it Ann!

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    Wow, you hit on so many things here Ann! I agree that obesity is a complex problem. I’ve actually had this debate with a friend who spent years working in hospitals as a health coach. It’s not as simple as eating right and exercising. And I don’t believe people know what’s healthy. Heck, Jer and I are constantly learning about nutrition and fitness and still feel like it’s kind of a crapshoot. I also feel like addiction is a bigger problem in our culture than we recognize, and one of the most common addictions is food. But you never hear of interventions for someone who has a serious food addiction. Which all comes back to your point, we need to be healthy emotionally and spiritually in order to take on the rest. Very well said!

    Not sure if you’re a huge reader, but have you read Healing the Shame that Binds You? It touches on a lot of this. I think you’d love it and it might give you new ideas or confirm your beliefs. I listened to it on my last camping adventure and want to actually read it so more can seep in.

    Have an excellent week. I always appreciate your wisdom and inspiration!

    • amusico says:

      Holly thank you and thank you for mentioning that book. I hadn’t heard of it but I will most definitely put that on my summer
      reading list. Sounds like something I will really enjoy and learn from. I always appreciate your thought Holly. Thank you.

  3. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, so much packed into your opening quote. Shifting blame only keeps us victims. Great thoughts.

  4. davidyochim says:

    Loved this. It was in line with what I blog about. https://davidsway.blog

  5. keisha says:

    great blog. great advices. please check my blog on my weight loss journey. https://loseweightnotfaithblog.com/

  6. i really enjoyed reading this today and need it. i am just starting my own weight loss journey and decided just yesterday to blog about it. hope you can stop by sometime. https://unmaskingthetruthofoneself.wordpress.com/

    • amusico says:

      Glad you enjoyed it. I checked out ;your link. Didn’t see where I could leave a comment but I wish you all the best as you take this jourey one baby step at a time. I’m rooting for you!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?