Health: Can You Trust Scientific, Medical Guidelines

researchLet me ask you a question. If you have a choice between two treatments – one that comes from a scientific, peer reviewed study and one that is recommended by a natural practitioner from personal experience with patients (or a trusted friend) and the evidence gained from that – which would you feel most comfortable and confident choosing?

Most people would probably choose the first since it is based on science, and studies done by medical researchers. That’s where I would part ways with most people. While I respect the scientific research done by people who sincerely want to make this a healthier, better world, I am not naïve.

There have been numerous studies in the recent past that were proved to be flawed at best and outright fraudulent at worst! In this article Dr. Mercola discusses scientific misconduct and conflict of interest that have resulted in serious harm to many people.

What came to my mind were recent stories in the news of studies “proving” that taking vitamins can increase your risk of cancer and heart disease and statins being prescribed as “preventive” medicine for all people! My biggest problem, besides the obvious lack of honesty and integrity is the fact that we are all metabolically unique. What works for me may not work for you! A drug you may be able to take with no problem may cause serious side effects for me. So science or not – one size doesn’t fit all, even when it is backed with “research.”

Another issue is the type of study being done. Randomized, controlled, clinical trials have matched groups of subjects with one group getting the “treatment” and one getting a placebo. Epidemiological studies look at large amounts of data from massive numbers of people. Those studies don’t show cause and effect, they show associations. For example, I read this example and think it illustrates the point beautifully. There has been a strong statistical association between the prevalence of developing diabetes and owning a TV set. However, should we then conclude that TV causes diabetes? Of course not, that’s crazy.

Add to this the lack of integrity, widespread scientific misconduct and conflict of interest by medical researchers which has caused damage and death. My take away is not to just blindly trust what anyone tells you without doing your own research, using your instincts and common sense.  While you should be able to trust what an “expert” says, unfortunately, that is not always the case.

What criteria do you use to determine whether a treatment or drug truly is right for you?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  When you do, why not sign up for my free weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report as well and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Health: Can You Trust Scientific, Medical Guidelines

  1. Ann,

    This is a great point and I agree with you. I know that when there is money to be made by the person giving the advice, it’s best to proceed with caution.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  2. Kathy says:

    This is, as always great info, Ann. I must say having been part of the medical profession (as a therapist) I often find studies skewed and information lopsided. I have a good friend who has a naturalpath background and I find myself always gravitating to that info. Having MD or PhD after your name doesn’t mean you have done your due diligence any better than the next guy when it comes to research. Thanks for your great info

  3. debwilson2 says:

    I’m not positive, but I think drug companies give doctors who prescribe so much of their product cruises and the like. They may be wanting them to use their brand, but that seems it could influence some doctors to have a patient “try the drug.” I think many doctors are so busy they just trust what sold to them. I agree with you, Ann. I trust someone I know has integrity and experience.

    • amusico says:

      I agree Debbie – I know my dad had gone to his doctor who told him his blood pressure was high and gave him samples of several different drugs to “try” when one had a negative effect.

  4. Thankfully at 43 years old, I do not and have not taken any prescriptions for a “condition”, ever. I don’t even like to take Tylenol/Advil, etc. If my bodies ‘needs” a drug, then I probably need to get it in line with the right foods and exercise.

    • amusico says:

      Good for you Michael! I can beat you though – I will be 60 in June and I never have, and don’t intend to take any drugs! You are right on the money, we can certainly get our bodies back in balance with the right foods and exercise. We certainly don’t have Advil deficiencies!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

