Weight Loss: Are You Weighing Yourself Properly

If you are trying to lose weight, chances are you spend a lot of time on the scale. While it is definitely a good way to track your progress, it’s definitely not the only way. I talk about several other non-scale ways to track your progress in Today is Still the Day. However, hopping on the scale is one of the easiest ways to see immediately whether you are making progress or not. It makes a difference how you weigh yourself, so let me give you some tips for getting the most accurate information.

First of all, how often should you weigh? It depends on why you are weighing yourself. If you’re if you’re keeping track of your hydration level, you will want to weigh yourself before a workout and again after the workout and then drink 16 ounces of water for every pound lost.

I know people who weigh daily and get discouraged if the number fluctuates in the wrong direction. Then there are others who won’t go near a scale and have a real love-hate relationship with it. As I recommend in Today is Still the Day, if you’re tracking your weight loss progress, I recommend once a week at the most. Once every two weeks is fine too.

So first make sure your scale is properly calibrated and accurate. You want the most accurate reading possible. Otherwise, why bother? Then you will want to weigh at the same time, on the same day of the week. Your weight can fluctuate anywhere from 2 to 10 pounds over the course of a day, and you don’t want to mistake that for weight gain or loss.

I find the best time is first thing in the morning after using the bathroom and without any clothes on. While they don’t add a huge amount of weight, you are not trying to see how much your jeans and top or sneakers weigh. You want to know your body weight, so this is the most accurate way to get that number.

I don’t recommend weighing after working out because either you’ve hydrated while exercising and you can have water weight or you sweated and are dehydrated. Either way it will not be an accurate reading. Getting on the same scale first thing in the morning on the same day each week will give you the best picture of how your plan is working. And that’s the whole point of using the scale. Isn’t it?

How often do you weigh yourself?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Learn more about me and Today is Still the Day, including a free excerpt right here!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weight Loss: Are You Weighing Yourself Properly

  1. Coach4him says:

    I needed this!! Thanks

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. J.D. Wininger says:

    Great tips Ms. Ann. I didn’t know the formula for water replacement after exercise. Assume this works when you’re perspiring like crazy doing farm chores too. Thanks ma’am.

    • amusico says:

      Yes sir – it is exactly the same. Regardless of what you are doing to cause perspiration, it is critical to rehydrate and not consider that an accurate picture of your weight either way! Thanks for the comment J.D.

  3. balancinglifeasamom says:

    Yes! I work 3 days/week at my day job, and those are the times that I find I can weight myself most accurately. On those days I’m up and in the shower before reaching the kitchen for my morning coffee, so I use the restroom and then weight myself before stepping in the shower. It’s just often enough to keep me on track without going crazy about the numbers and the routine fluctuations!

    • amusico says:

      That’s wonderful Lesley! Yes, when you are a mom of small children, especially when also working outside the home, you definitely have to schedule things. It is a good tool to stay on track as long as you don’t let it make you crazy. Thanks for sharing!!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?