Weight Loss: Is Coffee Good or Bad

There is no one “magic” food or drink that will help everyone lose weight. But certain foods work for certain people. That being said, it all depends on your metabolic make up and whether certain foods agree with your system.

Often we become sensitive to a food we eat regularly, which can cause symptoms that we attribute to other things. Inflammation is the underlying cause of all disease and food sensitivities and gut imbalances cause inflammation. According to recent research, damage to the digestive system can lead to leaky gut, which triggers a system-wide immune response, leading to inflammation all over the body. This can result in obesity by increasing insulin resistance as well. So before I talk about some research about coffee and weight loss, the disclaimer is – this would only be true for you if coffee agrees with your particular system.

That being said, a new study found that drinking a cup of coffee stimulated “brown fat,” in the body, a type of fat that has calorie-burning properties. Brown fat works in a different way to other fat in your body and produces heat by burning sugar and fat, often in response to cold. I talked about that in more detail in this previous post.Increasing the activity of brown fat improves blood sugar control as well blood lipid levels. The extra calories burned help with weight loss.

According to this research, thermal imaging showed that one cup of coffee stimulated the brown fat in the study participants. The brown fat in the neck became hotter. More research is needed to understand exactly what is causing this to happen. Researchers are not sure whether it is the caffeine stimulating the brown fat or another property in the coffee.

I think it’s also important to say that what you put in your coffee will also make a difference. If you load it up with 3 teaspoons of sugar and heavy cream or consider one of the specialty coffees that have all kinds of sugary ingredients your “coffee,” you won’t experience the positive results.

You may be tempted to start drinking coffee or increase your intake, but as I said at the beginning, it’s important to note that coffee doesn’t agree with everyone’s system. So, if you’re new to coffee or want to have another cup, just be sure to pay attention to how your body reacts to it and adjust accordingly.

Do you drink coffee regularly? Have you found it to help with weight loss?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Learn more about me and Today is Still the Day, including a free excerpt right here!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.      

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weight Loss: Is Coffee Good or Bad

  1. J.D. Wininger says:

    I drink coffee all the time; and down to only 15 cups per day from a habit of about 40 when I was working. I can’t tell you I’ve ever noticed any weight fluctuation (up or down) as a result, but there’s still hope it will help one day. 🙂 Love these informative posts ma’am. Thank You!

    • amusico says:

      Wow 40 cups a day! That is a lot of coffee. Even 15 cups is a lot but obviously you have no adverse effects. It could be that drinking less could result in weight loss. Often more isn’t necessarily better! I always enjoy and appreciate your comments J.D.

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    I am a regular coffee drinker … black and I can’t remember the last time I went without. I don’t know if it’s aided weight loss. I think it’s just a piece of the puzzle that makes up maintaining a healthy weight.

    • amusico says:

      I gave it up 35 years ago when I was pregnant with my oldest son and it started tasting nasty – and have just recently rekindled my love with it! I think it has a lot of benefits and quality of course is key and also not drinking 20 cups a day lol! Thanks for sharing Holly!

      • Holly Scherer says:

        That’s great Ann. It’s tasty stuff. Haha, my limit is three cups from the pot or two with the press we use camping. Coffee always tastes better outside. 😁

  3. Pingback: Diabetes: Coffee and Green Tea | 3-D Vitality

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?