Who Do You Go To For Nutritional Infomation?

My 86-year-old father has been losing weight the past several years. His doctor put him through a battery of testing a few years ago and thankfully found nothing “wrong.” However, my dad continued to lose weight. I weigh him the minute he walks in the door to my house and keep track. I told him that I thought maybe he wasn’t eating enough. He, of course, said he was. I said, let’s just go over what you ate yesterday and figure out the calories and see if you are eating enough to maintain your weight.

Well he told me what he ate and I listed the calories and of course he wasn’t eating enough to maintain his weight, much less gain back what he lost. His response to me was, “What do you know, you’re not a doctor.” Very true – never said I was.

I offered to mix up a healthy smoothie powder with whey protein and some other things that he could just put in the blender or shake up with organic milk or some other liquid. He refused. He was convinced there was something else wrong and went back to the doctor who told him exactly what I did except he also told him to drink 2 Ensures daily, which of course he is willing to do since the doctor told him to. I even bought him a healthy meal replacement drink I found on Dr. Whitaker’s site. He didn’t like it – said it wasn’t sweet enough. Not surprising since Ensure is mostly sugar. Oh well, at least he’s getting more calories. I came across this article which sparked this post.

Who do you trust to give you good nutritional information?

P.S. That really is a picture of my dad at my daughter Liz’s high school graduation – he’s pretty cute, isn’t he?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Diabetes, Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Who Do You Go To For Nutritional Infomation?

  1. Matt Musico says:

    Very much so 🙂

  2. Ann,

    I am not surprised that most doctors have no nutritional training.

    Thank God I don’t have any serious health issues, but now that I know you, I ask YOU! I also ask the people at the Nutrition store. I often do a lot of research on my own as well.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  3. Michael Good says:

    Ann,
    That’s a lovely photo of Elizabeth and your father!

    I just listened to the most recent No More Mondays podcasts where Justin and Andy were talking about how we value something more when we pay for it. I guess it’s the same when it comes to health related information. We talk it more seriously when it’s coming from an authority figure like a doctor.

    Thanks for sharing the personal story!

    • amusico says:

      Thanks Michael. And actually I’ve found some people like my dad will do whatever a doctor says, without questioning it, and others like my father-in-law go exactly the opposite way! It’s definitely interesting. Your point about valuing what you pay for more is also valid.

  4. Cindy Hirch says:

    Ann – I’m careful about who I listen to for advise. I know people can be extreme in either direction. I try to listen to people with a balanced approach to health; it makes a world of difference. And of course I listen to you! -:)

  5. You know how us hard-headed men folk can be! Your dad must be doing something right though to be 86 years old and getting around. In my house we put very little faith in the medical establishment. We try to read and study up on things then go to them as kind of consultants. And thankfully, we have your expertise when we need it, Ann. I think you could teach those MDs a thing or two. These days it’s just like drive-through fast food – they pop in for a few minutes, make a diagnosis and pop back out. We had an appointment with a top pediatric allergist in the Atlanta area for my daughters Eosinophilic Esophagitis on Monday and I asked him what he thought was causing it. He just said “If you have it, you have it. Like a switch that goes off in your body and poof, you got it.” So, in other words – not even the doctors know sometimes, so it’s always good to do your own research.

    The picture of your daughter and father is precious.

    • amusico says:

      Thank you Michael – I’m very grateful that my dad is still here to enjoy his grandkids and for me to enjoy him (even though he can be thick as a brick sometimes lol!) I respect doctors and all their knowledge – but no one knows it all and since God created these bodies – I tend to lean toward the more natural – especially when a doctor tells me he doesn’t know the cause – remind me to tell you the story about my son Matt and the cough he developed in our new house and what the doctor said. God gave us the answer!

  6. Cam says:

    That is a neat picture Ann. Thanks for sharing. Perhaps your dad might be interested in reading the article you referenced a few weeks back about fake diplomas being an issue among doctors. A very disturbing trend.

    From the article you referenced in this post, one quotation jumped out at me:
    “‘Leave your drugs in the chemist’s pots if you can cure your patient with food.’ – Hippocrates, ‘the father of medicine’ whom the Hippocratic Oath for doctors is named after.”

    I’ve always been amused by the fact that a doctor’s office is called a “practice”. Hopefully they are actually learning something. 😉 I get the majority of my health advice from my parents who followed the example and teaching of a late 19th/early 20th century author who had lots to say about holistic health. So far, it hasn’t failed us yet. 🙂

    Thanks for the great posts!
    ~Cam

    • Ann Musico says:

      Cam believe it or not I have told my dad about that but he is a very strong minded person (read: stubborn! lol). I agree – I’ve always been amused that doctors “practice” – not sure I want to be the experiment!!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

