Nutrition: 2021 Clean 15 Dirty Dozen List

The Environmental Working Group’s new 2021 Dirty Dozen, Clean 15 list came out recently. I will share it below. The list indicates which crops tend to be treated with the highest volume and variety of pesticides. Definitely important information to have.

There are a few changes from last year. The biggest change from previous years is the inclusion of bell and hot peppers on the dirty dozen list. The report found that almost 70% of non-organic samples tested positive for at least one pesticide and a single sample of kale, collard and mustard greens contained up to 20 different pesticides! Even though citrus isn’t on the Dirty Dozen list it was found that almost 90% of citrus samples analyzed in 2020 tested positive for imazalil, a fungicide that can interfere with hormone levels. Spinach samples had 1.8 times as much pesticide residue by weight than any other crop tested.

If that doesn’t convince you to choose organic whenever possible, I’m not sure what will.

  1. Strawberries
  2. Spinach
  3. Kale, collard, and mustard greens
  4. Nectarines
  5. Apples
  6. Grapes
  7. Cherries
  8. Peaches
  9. Pears
  10. Bell and hot peppers
  11. Celery
  12. Tomatoes

Here is this year’s Clean 15 list:

  1. Avocados
  2. Sweet corn
  3. Pineapple
  4. Onions
  5. Papaya
  6. Sweet peas (frozen)
  7. Eggplant
  8. Asparagus
  9. Broccoli
  10. Cabbage
  11. Kiwi
  12. Cauliflower
  13. Mushrooms
  14. Honeydew melon
  15. Cantaloupes

While you do not have to purchase everything organic, I hope you will pay attention to the produce that is most contaminated and choose accordingly.

Do you purchase any of your produce organically?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nutrition: 2021 Clean 15 Dirty Dozen List

  1. JD Wininger says:

    To be honest, I don’t buy organic foods for two reasons; cost and trust. So many things claim to be
    “all-natural” and “organic”, but many are simply “marketing” and not true. Whenever we can, we buy local produce grown by local farmers we know and trust. Beyond that, we grow our own. I wish I had more time to do more of that. The first few years on our ranch we gave away more than we used from our garden, but it just became too much to deal with when I was still traveling with my consulting work. Watering, weeding, de-bugging, etc. would fall behind and if I was gone for two weeks, I would miss harvesting. Perhaps I can get back to gardening more now that I’m a “Covid leper.”

    • amusico says:

      I hear you on the trust issue and buying from local farmers you know and trust is always best. I also grow some of my own. I don’t have a huge garden but I love being able to go out and pick fresh veggies during the summer months. We all just have to make the best choices we can and pray over our food trusting God to bless it!! Thanks my friend.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?