Healthy Aging: Mind over Matter

Mind over matter“Youthfulness is about how you live not when you were born.” Karl Lagerfeld

“Age isn’t how old you are but how old you feel.” Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez

“If you think you are too old to rock ‘n roll, then you are.” Lemmy Kilmister

“How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?” Satchel Paige

“If you think you are old, regardless of your age, you are.” Ann Musico

Those are some of my favorite quotations about age and aging with my special favorite probably being the one by Satchel Paige.

Maybe you’re not a baseball fan as I am and perhaps even if you are you don’t follow the Mets. We have a veteran pitcher on the team, Bartolo Colon, who is 43 years old and is pretty amazing. He especially amazing because he looks like anything but an athlete! He’s overweight but incredibly agile, he can still pitch circles around some of the younger pitchers and even hit his first home run this season! (You can see it below!) Pretty amazing!

He’s my favorite player because he just always looks like he’s having a ball out there. While the announcers are amazed that he is still doing what he does at this elite level at his age – he is having fun! I would bet he doesn’t think of himself as too old to play major league baseball.

Well this applies to health and longevity. Numerous studies show that age is basically a state of mind, and you’re really only as old or as young as you feel. Regardless of age, if you perceive yourself as “old and frail” – whether you really are or not – influences your health outcomes powerfully and becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.

My children grew up thinking their mom was a little crazy because I’ve always told them that if Jesus doesn’t return soon, I expect to live to at least 120 and they could expect me to be pushing my great-great-grandchildren in strollers and playing with them! I mean that and believe it.

While I did have a health scare a couple of years ago, I fully expected to come out of it whole and I have. Maybe you do this too – when I meet a mom while I’m out and we talk, often in my head I can be thinking, “Hmmm, we are about the same age” even though logically I know she is in her 30’s and I’m 62! But in my head I am 30 and I intend to stay there. The research shows it’s the place to be!

How old do you feel?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Emotional Health, Overall Health and Wholeness, Spiritual Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Healthy Aging: Mind over Matter

  1. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I think of myself as 30 too. I think we will be that age in heaven. That’s the age Jesus started His ministry. Loved this post!

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    Ann, I do the same thing! Honestly, each year I get older, I feel better. And I always say I’ll be 120 too. 🙂

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

