Green is Good!

A client of mine called me today. She has been taking spirulina capsules as her multi which is something I suggest. She noticed when she ran out of them, not only did she have less energy, but she began craving sugar. Now that may just be how it affects her, but I thought it was very interesting. Then she mentioned that she bought spirulina powder instead of the capsules by mistake and found that it clumped up when she tried to stir it into water. She asked how best to use the powder.

So here is what I suggested she do, since I drink my spirulina every day. First of all, you have to put it in the liquid and use a shaker to mix it thoroughly. She wasn’t crazy about the taste – I suggested she put a little stevia into it. You could also mix it with unsweetened juice cut half with water like grape or apple.

I mix spirulina, chlorella and wheat grass with inulin fiber, a mineral powder called Quantum pH Powder from Healthline, raw Maca powder when I have it and Nopal powder when I have that and a few drops of stevia. Maca and Nopal I use periodically, taking time off from them every few months. After my first 16 oz. of water upon waking, that green drink is the first thing I consume every day.

I suggested she could also make her spirulina into a smoothie – it can be the basis for an awesome meal replacement! I have a smoothie like this for breakfast several times a week. It’s easy.

Here are some of the things I do: besides the water and spirulina powder you can add any (or all!) of the following: 1 banana, berries of your choice, 1/3 cup of thawed chopped frozen spinach, sprouts (alfalfa, broccoli); watercress, parsley, cilantro, chia seeds, hemp seeds, flax meal, whey protein powder (or hemp, rice or pea protein powder), pine nuts, soaked, raw, organic almonds, cinnamon, l-glutamine powder, lecithin granules – the list is actually endless – just choose some healthy ingredients you have at home and throw them in.

I let my smoothie sit in the fridge for a few minutes and the chia seeds thicken it up. It tastes just like a milkshake (no kidding!) – only it’s nutrient-dense, healthy and very satisfying. So, give green foods a try – making them into a smoothie is a great way to get your kids to try them too.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Cancer, Children's Health, Diabetes, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Supplements, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

