Nutrition: Stress and Digestion

Your mind and body are intimately intertwined and each impacts the other. Images and thoughts can start to create a physical response in your body. One of the most sensitive body systems is our digestion. When you are stressed it powerfully affects your digestive system. This connection is extremely important when it comes to weight loss.

So here’s a simplified picture of how stress affects your digestion:

Almost immediately your salivary glands aren’t as activated, so your digestive juices don’t flow as freely and frequently as when you are relaxed.

Your sympathetic nervous system (fight or flight) kicks in and tells your body to get ready for action. The sympathetic nervous system overrides the parasympathetic nervous system (rest and digest) and shuts down unnecessary functions like digestion. They’re unnecessary if you are preparing to fight, fly or freeze! It also releases stress hormones that cause you to store fat, particularly in the midsection.

Because your digestion is compromised before you even take your first bite of food, you are at increased risk for leaky gut and heartburn. You are unable to produce adequate stomach acid, which not only hinders proper digestion of your food but is also protective against pathogenic bacteria and viruses. Much of your immune system resides in your gut, after all. It changes the composition of the good bacteria in your gut which impacts your overall health as well as your ability to successfully lose weight. Stress also affects peristalsis, the rhythmic contractions in your intestines that move food along, extract nutrition and eliminate wastes.

While it is partially true that you are what you eat, it is even more true that you are what you eat and digest. So ensuring effective digestion is very important. In my Today is Still the Day plan, I recommend practicing a particular type of deep breathing before each meal to help you get into a more relaxed, less stressed state. You can eat the best, cleanest, highest quality food and if your digestion is compromised, you’re not getting the full benefit you could be.

Do you consciously take time to ensure you are calm and relaxed before eating?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Digestive Health, Emotional Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Nutrition: Stress and Digestion

  1. Amen Ms. Ann! It absolutely affects us. Stress has caused far too many health challenges in my life, to include great intestinal/digestive issues in the past. Learning to “let go and let God”, along with disciplining myself not to eat all the junk food in sight when I’m under a lot of stress, have both helped curb the negative impacts. Even as a semi-retired guy, there are stressors in life that impact us. Wonderful reminders, tips, and counsel ma’am. God’s blessings.

    • amusico says:

      Thank you J.D. I have experienced some challenges due to stress – I think if we are honest, we all have. It’s definitely something worth being aware of as it affects our overall health. I appreciate you!

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    I’ve never actually considered this but will moving forward. I try to stay calm and mindful but I know that I’m not always in a calm state when I eat. Thanks for bringing this to my awareness.

  3. This is so true. With everyday passing by we keep forgetting how stress kills our digestion. I’m glad I came through your blog where I can remind myself and others about it.

  4. abimcgpjnaik says:

    The digestive tract is such a delicate thing. I have always had a nervous stomach and all of my stess goes right there without fail. Stress also has a nasty habit of causing IBS over time!

    • amusico says:

      Many people find that they experience the results of stress and anxiety in their digestion. There are definitely ways to help yourself handle stress better and improve your digestion. I hope you look into those options.

  5. Fred Oyler says:

    I didn’t know much technicality behind the role of stress in causing indigestion but i have noticed it quite sometimes. Being anxious can really cause everything bad in your body!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?