Nutrition: Why Meal Timing Matters

One of the most important parts of my Today’s the Day plan is that clients stop eating for the day by 7 pm. This way even if they are in bed by 9, they will have at least 2 hours between eating and going to bed. I have long been an advocate for keeping the evening meal early and relatively light. I feel you sleep better when your body isn’t busy trying to digest a heavy, late meal and your organs are then free to do their nightly cleansing and replenishing.

Well I just read some recent research that shows eating your evening meal earlier, or leaving an interval of at least two hours before going to bed, is linked with a lower risk of breast and prostate cancer. According to the research those who waited at least 2 hours before going to bed as well as those who ate before 9 pm as opposed to 10 pm or later had about a 20% lower risk of breast or prostate cancer.

While the researchers are not sure exactly why this is so, they believe it has to do with how the timing of meals affects our ability to metabolize it. Perhaps if this research is confirmed, this may be a very simple change people can make to lower their risk for certain cancers. Wouldn’t it be great if it was just that simple?

Do you typically eat meals later or is your last meal of the day relatively early? Does this information encourage you to make a change?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Detoxification, Digestive Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Nutrition: Why Meal Timing Matters

  1. Ivey Rorie says:

    Boy do I have a problem w/ this. Still working on it. I have tried eating later, like 7, so that I don’t get hungry later. Eating at 5:00 can leave a long time before bedtime and then I want to snack. I’m doing better though. Less snacking anyway. Now that it is cooling off I will start back to having an evening tea or decaf coffee. That has been a big help to me. Its also a good time for my collagen.

    How is the book coming? I’ve got to get back into it. I am off the keto thing and need to establish an eating plan. This week I think I am going to have some salads for meals. I need to learn to eat salads as sides too.

    • amusico says:

      I think the meal timing is a matter of gradually making changes. Slowly but surely you will find it easier to do. If you are used to snacking at night it does take some time to change that habit and get your body on board! I know because I had to do it! Yes with the cooler weather a cup of tea or decaf coffee with collagen will be perfect.

      The book is moving along. She is setting it up so we can get a physical proof to see which should be soon. And yes salad with protein on it as a meal is a great option. Sounds like you are making good changes!

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    We’ve been doing better with eating earlier now that it gets dark early. It’s hard in the summer when we’re trying to soak in the long days and sunshine. I hear a lot about meal timing. I especially liked the book The Longevity Diet by Valter Longo. All the little things are important and add up. If I can prevent disease with what and when I eat, I’m all in!

  3. Lori Yaw says:

    This is something I can do! A simple switch! Nice to know that there are additional benefits besides weight loss when stopping eating by 5.This is really encouraging.

  4. Join with us for the 3rd International conference on Diet & Nutrition 2019 at Berlin, Germany on June 19-20, 2019.
    Website: – https://www.meetingsint.com/conferences/nutrition-diet/

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?