A Nutritious Breakfast Benefits Your Child’s Brain

I read an article on Life Extension, which talked about scientific studies that linked a healthy breakfast with higher scores on achievement tests.  The article went on to recommend that the whole family begin to boost their brainpower with a healthy breakfast.

So far so good – I’m totally on board!  Especially for kids, they need to fuel up before leaving for school so they can think and concentrate and learn.  It’s true for us as adults as well.  They went on to say that since everyone has a hectic schedule, they would provide a few very quick to prepare or make ahead recipes and suggested preparing them together as a family.  I think that’s a great idea and anytime you can get your children involved in creating healthy meals, they will have some ownership in them and be MUCH more apt to eat them.

They offered these suggestions: Nutty Breakfast Parfaits prepared with Homemade Yogurt, Spiced Hot Chocolate, Crockpot Oatmeal, Spinach Pie, Blackberry-Banana Breakfast Smoothies and Cheese and Fruit Kabobs and you can look at the recipes in the article.  I always carefully look at recipes and see where I can make them even healthier.

I would probably substitute steel cut oats for the regular rolled oats in the crockpot recipe; I would most definitely NOT use Splenda or any artificial sweetener in any of the recipes.  If you need a zero calorie sweetener I would use Stevia instead.  Instead of brown sugar you can substitute real maple syrup, raw honey or Lakanto.

I would substitute either plain Greek yogurt or Amasai for the fat free plain yogurt in the first recipe.  Greek yogurt has more protein and a creamier texture than regular and Amasai comes from truly organic, green fed cattle that don’t produce the beta casein that causes most digestive problems for dairy.  If you try to make your own yogurt with their recipe be sure to use organic milk.

One thing they omitted, in my opinion, are eggs!  To me they are a nearly perfect food and you can make them so many different ways, there’s sure to be something your child would enjoy!

I used to make my kids a “face.”  One slice of whole grain bread with a circle cut out of the center with a biscuit cutter or glass.  Lightly toast the bread in a pan with some coconut oil, break an egg in the hole and cook until done.  Decorate the face with olive eyes, a red pepper mouth, shredded cheese hair – be creative!  They will love it.

A friend of mine used to let her children tend their own gardens each summer planting whatever veggies and herbs they wanted.  Then she would beat an egg or two and put it in a ziplock bag.  Let her children pick whatever vegetables and herbs they wanted for their omelet and put it in their bag and drop it into a pot of boiling water to cook.  Then they had their own personal omelets!

Whatever breakfast you choose, just make it the healthiest, real food, properly cooked and make it fun so your children begin developing a healthy relationship with food and begin a healthy breakfast habit.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Children's Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Nutritious Breakfast Benefits Your Child’s Brain

  1. DesignerCam says:

    Ann, you (and the cliches) are absolutely right. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day.
    I also agree with you that what most people/articles suggest as being ‘healthy’ can easily be made healthier.

    I have found that without a solid breakfast in my own life, I cannot concentrate on work and life as intentionally as I could have if hunger hasn’t set in. There is a saying that “a man who has a toothache cannot be in love.” Well a man who is starving hungry cannot think straight either.

    Thanks for the great reminder. Now it’s off to get some breakfast for me! 🙂

  2. Ann,

    My Mom never let us leave the house without breakfast. She usually made a full breakfast — eggs, grits, oatmeal, etc. Breakfast is still one of my favorite meals and I love eggs as well. Your ideas for kids are so creative. I agree that breakfast benefits the brain.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

    • amusico says:

      It’s my favorite meal as well and I never get tired of eggs – in fact I eat them every day! Sounds like I would’ve loved breakfast at your house 🙂

  3. I love a good breakfast! Eggs with spinach and steel cut oats – doesn’t get any better than that. While my daughter doesn’t like all the junk food cereals that most kids like, she also doesn’t care for alot of the healthy items either. She floats in and out of the things she likes. For years, she ate eggs with me – now she can’t even tolerate the smell in the mornings. I introduced the Amasai to her recently, but she just “decided” that day she didn’t want to try, but I loved it! I know she’s liked yogurt drinks in the past, but we haven’t bought any due to her allergies. You know kids – it really does help to either have them pick out the product or make the appearance fun to them.

    • amusico says:

      Absolutely – it has to be their decision and choice. Offer the Amasai again in a few weeks – she may change her mind and try it. My oldest son just tried one today for the first time and he absolutely loved it! Glad you did too. And your breakfast sounds much like my favorite!

  4. This is excellent, Ann. I’m usually the breakfast maker in the house and these gave me some great ideas I could use. I love the smiley face toast! That’s really cool, and my kids would enjoy that too. They good thing is, Alena loves and almost craves Olives… A healthy breakfast I believe is so important…

  5. Michael Good says:

    Claudia and I love breakfast, Ann, and can never go without it! I think it might be my favorite meal of the day. Also, I really look forward to my cup of coffee each morning which is an added bonus. 🙂
    We’re also big fans of eggs and enjoy them most mornings. Growing up, we made what we called “birdie nests.” It was basically a “face” without the eyes and hair and I’ll still make these every once in a while!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

