Weight Loss: Why Detox is Step One

The first two weeks of the Today Is Still the Day plan are what I refer to as detox weeks. Some people get nervous when they hear that word but there’s no need for anxiety! I have very good reason for beginning with detox. My main purpose is to make the rest of the plan easier for you. When you begin by eliminating certain foods that can cause cravings and sensitivities, you give your body an opportunity to reset. You even retrain your taste buds which are renewed every 14 days or so!

There are many integrative physicians who believe we should be constantly in a minor state of detox in order to support our body’s own systems in dealing with the toxicity of modern life. Obviously I agree. Because we are exposed to more and more toxins in the air, food, and water supply, our systems have been overtaxed. Your body is created to detoxify, but when it becomes overwhelmed from every direction, you begin to break down.

I believe I have simplified the process. Rather than some extreme fast or other restrictive “detox diet” I prefer to decrease the toxins we might be taking in by focusing on high fiber, cleansing, organic produce and lots of clean water.

Those first two weeks usually also eliminate starchy carbs and grains unless you are dealing with adrenal fatigue or some other issue, which simply makes it easier for you to focus on clean protein, healthy fats and non-starchy veggies, especially cleansing leafy greens. These foods reduce inflammation while supporting your natural detoxification systems with the nutrition it needs.

What is different about the detox weeks on my plan is that you also detox your spirit and soul. That means negative thinking, attitudes and beliefs. I don’t think anyone would argue with the fact that besides toxins in the air, food and water, we are also exposed daily to toxic thoughts, words, relationships and beliefs. Often we are not even aware of them, but they are weighing us down just as surely as GMOs and pesticides do.

Today is Still the Day addresses detoxification in a holistic way because if you only detoxify your physical body and ignore your spirit and soul you’ll end up right back where you started before you know it. You wouldn’t let trash, dust and dirt accumulate in your home without continually cleaning and staying on top of it. Should you do any less for your health?

Do you agree that detox is an important first step to weight loss and overall health? Why or why not?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.      

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Detox, Detoxification, Soul Health, Weight loss, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weight Loss: Why Detox is Step One

  1. Holly Scherer says:

    So well said! Our mental junk can have just as much, if not more, power over our health. I love that you include it in your detox plan.

    • amusico says:

      Thank you Holly! Unfortunately all too often we overlook the mental and spiritual junk and then can’t understand why it’s not working. I always appreciate your insights!

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I love how you address the body, mind and soul. One affects the other!

  3. Pingback: Weight Loss: Why Detox is Step One — 3-D Vitality – SEO

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?