How Your Healthy Attitude Affects Nutrition

Eating clean, healthy foods and exercising are part of the puzzle. A new study reveals a positive attitude and mindset could be the missing piece. In this study of over 1,000 people, they refer to a positive outlook as a promotion focus. These positive participants focused on pursuing and engaging in healthy behaviors.

The study found these people were more likely to have good nutritional habits than those with a slightly more negative outlook, what they termed a “prevention focus”. People with a prevention focus were described as those who were more concerned about avoiding unhealthy behaviors. So essentially the difference is between focusing on the positive or the negative.

According to the research, consciously choosing to focus on the beneficial things you can do for your health like having a green smoothie in the morning and meal prepping on the weekend, as opposed to focusing on the things you should avoid, like sugar, junk food and carbs, could result in healthier habits over time.

And in order to make any nutritional changes that will actually benefit you long-term, you have to be in it for the long haul. The changes need to be ones you can sustain over time. This is true if you are trying to lose weight or just clean up your diet and eat better.

There is a very strong correlation between emotional health and physical health so working to improve your mindset and attitude and make them more positive will benefit you mentally and emotionally as well as physically. Meditation has proven to be one of the most effective ways to improve in this area. Even simply reflecting deeply on what is most important to you and why can help you shift your mindset and make healthier changes.

Would you say you have a promotion focus or a prevention focus? How is that working for you as far as making healthy changes?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.      

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Digestive Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Soul Health, Spiritual Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to How Your Healthy Attitude Affects Nutrition

  1. Ivey Rorie says:

    Ann,
    Another good post.
    Where do you get your images. You’ve had some really good ones lately.

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    I am not surprised about this at all, Ann. Personally, it’s been so much easier to maintain a healthy lifestyle focusing on what I can and want to do rather than what I shouldn’t.

    • amusico says:

      It just makes sense, doesn’t it Holly? It doesn’t surprise me that you knew this. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts. I always appreciate it.

  3. Great article, Ann! I like that take on promotion versus prevention focus. I think this explains why I’m doing a better job on managing my health right now. I’ve found meditating to be a great way to lower stress levels, and keep me focused on achieving a healthy lifestyle. Also, getting plenty of sleep and drinking more water helps too! Thanks for sharing this important info, Ann.

    • amusico says:

      Thank you Gloria! I love what you are doing to live a healthier lifestyle. Everything you mentioned is key! I appreciate you sharing your experience.

  4. Such great insight! Thank you for sharing!

  5. Pingback: How Your Healthy Attitude Affects Nutrition — 3-D Vitality – Profound Indian

  6. Pingback: Weight Loss: How Satisfied Are You | 3-D Vitality

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?