Weight Loss: Avoid These 3 Pitfalls

You may think you are doing everything right and still your weight loss efforts are stalled, or worse, you find the scale going in the wrong direction! Maybe you successfully lost weight, but now the number on the scale is creeping back up. What’s going on here? Well there are a few common pitfalls people tend to slip into without realizing they are sabotaging their efforts. Here are the 3 most common:

Skimping on Protein. Starting your day with a complete clean protein will increase chemicals in the brain that not only improve sleep but also improve your mood due to their tryptophan content. This amino acid is a precursor to serotonin your feel good hormone that keeps you feeling happy and motivated. Serotonin becomes melatonin, which helps you sleep at night. Fewer than 6 hours of sleep per day is associated with low-grade chronic inflammation, insulin resistance, increased risk for obesity and Type 2 diabetes. Sleep is critical for maintaining healthy weight and protein is important for restful sleep. Adequate protein in the morning tames appetite throughout the day and studies showed starting the day with clean protein instead of carbs can reduce risk of fatigue by up to 75% for 6 hours and double your energy within 30 minutes! (A better workout!) One study found women who included protein at breakfast lost weight 65% faster.

Doing the same workout day in and day out. When you follow a consistent exercise program, your body gets more efficient and you no longer burn as many calories. You either have to increase the intensity or change your routine regularly if you want to maintain your weight loss. Your body is Intelligently created and when you do the same 3 miles on the treadmill or the same kettle bell workout every day, your body adapts. Just vary your routine – the intensity, number of reps, speed, and even the specific exercises every few weeks to keep your body surprised and burning the maximum number of calories. It is one of my recommendations in Today is Still the Day.

Not Drinking Water. Don’t get so caught up in eating healthy foods that you overlook drinking adequate water. Staying hydrated reduces hunger, increases the number of calories you burn and improves your body’s ability to burn body fat for energy. Drinking 16 oz. 15-30 minutes before meals boosts metabolism 24-30% over the next hour to 1.5 hours.

My basic recommendation is one half your body weight in ounces and including ¼ tsp. of natural, unprocessed salt for every 32 oz.

Are any of these pitfalls hindering your efforts?   

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Learn more about me and Today is Still the Day, including a free excerpt right here!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.      

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Fitness, Intentional Exertion/Exercise, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weight Loss: Avoid These 3 Pitfalls

  1. Not only have I fallen in these pits from time to time Ms. Ann; I’ve forgotten the ladder to get myself out. Wonderful tips we all need to keep in mind. Especially during this busy holiday season. It’s so easy to skip a good meal for something fast and convenient. And worse, it’s difficult to prevent those peanut M&Ms from “jumping into my cart” when I’m not looking. I don’t know why they do that when it gets cold outside. 🙂 God’s blessings ma’am; and Merry CHRISTmas!

    • amusico says:

      Oh J.D. we ALL fall into these from time to time and holiday time is always the most challenging for most of us. No condemnation here. Enjoy our peanut M&M’s (my husband’s favorite!) occasionally and then just get back to cleaner eating! Blessings for a wonderful Christmas!

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    Great reminders, Ann. I drink way less water in the winter. I need to work on that.

  3. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I needed the reminder of the protein in the morning. I have never liked eggs in the morning. Like leftovers and smoothies. So I need to be sure I get the protein. Thanks.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?