Weight Loss: The Missing Piece

I just love it when research bears out what I have been saying for years. If you read these blogs or my weekly newsletter very often, you know I have long said that the quality of the fuel you put into your body is the #1 most important factor when it comes to health and also to successful weight loss.

New research done studying the effectiveness of both low-carb and low-fat diets were found to hinge on the quality of the foods eaten. While I definitely lean toward a lower carb style of eating, this study compared low-carb and high-carb diets of 37,000 adults over the age of 20. When comparing them in terms of longevity, they didn’t find any great differences – until they compared the quality of the carbohydrates. The quality is what made a huge difference in mortality rates.

People who practiced low-carb or low-fat diets but consumed low-quality food actually had higher rates of premature death. That’s common sense and should be a no-brainer! This research suggests that any increased longevity benefits conferred from both low-carbohydrate and low-fat diets may depend on the quality and food sources of macronutrients.

So any food plan or diet you choose to implement must have the quality and source of macronutrients clearly defined. I’ve said it before – you can become a vegan thinking it’s healthier, but if you eat all genetically modified produce and refined grains, you will do harm rather than good. If you choose a ketogenic diet but eat conventionally raised animal products and foods that contain unhealthy fats, you will not be helping yourself.

Nutrition depends on nutrients. Choosing the highest quality of foods that provide the essential nutrients your body needs and recognizes should be the goal. This is precisely why many obese people are actually malnourished! They fill their bellies but are starving themselves of essential nutrients at the cellular level.

It all goes back to what I preach all the time – make your choices from the highest quality, whole, one-ingredient foods that agree with your specific makeup and you can’t help but experience greater health and wellness.

Does it surprise you to know that food quality is the most important piece of the weight loss puzzle?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Learn more about me and Today is Still the Day, including a free excerpt right here!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.      

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weight Loss: The Missing Piece

  1. You’re always teaching, I’m always learning. Thank you Ms. Ann!

  2. Holly Scherer says:

    I does not surprise me at all and like you, I love when research backs up my beliefs. Or the stuff we inherently knew all along!

  3. Melanie says:

    Such an important thing. Buy the best quality that you can afford!

  4. smartblog says:

    Thanks for this post.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?