Weight Loss: Is Your Mindset Sabotaging You

I know you are aware of the mind-body connection. But did you realize it could be hijacking your weight loss efforts? There are two in particular I would like to focus on: gratitude and forgiveness.

I shared in a prior post about the milkshake study. Study participants were divided into two groups with each group receiving the exact same 300 calorie milkshake. One group was told they had a 104 calorie, guilt free shake and the other was told it was a decadent 620 calorie shake. Those with the low calorie shake had higher levels of the hunger hormone ghrelin and those who thought their shake was indulgent had much lower ghrelin levels, leaving them feeling much more satiated than the other group. Their mindset was so powerful it affected them on the physical level.

Studies also showed that those who practice gratitude are not only more satisfied with life in general, but they produce less ghrelin (that hunger hormone) and cortisol (the stress hormone) and so feel more satisfied with their meal as well. Gratitude also shuts down the stress response, balances hormones, boosts immune system function and the release of DHEA, the anti-aging hormone. Less stress hormones circulating means less dangerous belly fat!

Anger, bitterness and resentment are also powerful emotions that can derail weight loss efforts as well as relationships. Living in a state of constant stress, anxiety and anger will negatively affect your health in many ways, including your ability to maintain long-term weight loss.

Being chronically stressed, for example, holding a grudge, releases the stress hormone cortisol which causes fat to be deposited in deep abdominal tissue. This belly fat is very active and causes more and more fat storage. Unforgiveness triggers a chronic stress response, which promotes fat to be stored in the most dangerous and hardest to lose place in your body.

This is where forgiveness becomes so critical. Holding on to these negative beliefs and emotions harms only you. Regardless of the type of stress (physical, accidents, abuse, emotional or mental) it causes our cells to mutate. Every thought we have has a corresponding emotion and biochemical expression attached to it. So every time we think about it, we experience the emotions again and release those same chemicals into our physical body. Forgiveness breaks that vicious cycle.

This is why I include spirit and soul work in Today is Still the Day. You can’t just address the physical aspects of weight loss and ignore your mindset, attitudes and beliefs.

How could gratitude and forgiveness help you in your weight loss efforts?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D, including improving your diet, choosing cutting edge nutritional products and effective weight loss strategies be sure to like me on Facebook here and here, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report (and get a free gift!), follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Learn more about me and Today is Still the Day, including a free excerpt right here!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.      

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Brain health, Emotional Health, Gratitude, Overall Health and Wholeness, Soul Health, Spiritual Health, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weight Loss: Is Your Mindset Sabotaging You

  1. Amazing post Ms. Ann! I could not agree more ma’am. Our minds, psyche, whatever one might call it, has a tremendous effect on how we think, speak, and do. What a great reminder that “Attitude is Everything.” How we approach any subject is largely determined by our past. To change our lives, we must not live in the past but create ourselves a new future. Thank you ma’am.

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, this is such powerful information. A happy heart is a healthy heart.

  3. Holly Scherer says:

    Again, Ann, Amazing stuff! AAA+

    I have to admit that forgiveness is something I need to work on. I think it’s part of how I’m naturally wired as an Enneagram Type 1. But also I was raised by someone who could hold a grudge better than anyone I know, so I think it’s a combo of nature and nurture. I read The Book of Forgiving by Desmond Tutu this year and I’m making progress. Still, forgiveness can be hard for me and it drives me crazy because I know that holding onto this garbage is only hurting myself.

    Thanks for another great post and therapy session. 😉

    • amusico says:

      As always Holly, thank you for your honest comments. If we are honest, I think true forgiveness is difficult for most of us – at least sometimes. But perhaps seeing that it is only damaging us may help us to let go of these destructive emotions.

      • Holly Scherer says:

        That’s such a good point I often forget. Even, Tutu, a holy man admitted it’s hard for him. Thanks for the reminder.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?